THE GOSPEL OF JESUS CHRIST IS A GOSPEL OF CHANGE

Kia Ora to all our Polynesian Sisters out there! My name is Jimicina Hopoate and I’m a Proud Mormon. 21 yrs old, Born in Auckland, grew up in Brisbane, currently living in the “Promised Land” of Sydney, Australia! Come from a family of 6 kids, 4 older brothers (so you can imagine how hard it was for me entering the dating scene! -__- haha). I returned home 1 year ago from serving in the Best Mission in the world- The Australia Adelaide Mission I recently got married in the Brisbane Temple to the love of my Life, Mr William Hopoate. I now study business full-time, hold 2 callings in my Ward Relief Society Presidency and Stake Mission Prep and am loving my new role as a Wifey.

Initially, growing up with 4 older brothers seeing them prepare to serve full-time missions and hearing my dads mission stories my mindset was “ Whatever they can do, I can do too”! haha So I worked, saved for my mission and prepared myself to serve. I wanted to serve to show my thanks and gratitude for the blessings I had received throughout my life by sacrificing my time, and all my attention to serving the Lord. Once I hit the Mission field I again realised, I was changing, learning, growing, witnessing miracles and receiving more and more blessings out there. My Mission wasn’t a means for me to pay back what the Lord had given me, but yet again he blessed me with more. I feel I’ll forever be in debt to the Lord for his caring hand throughout my life.

11774725_10153172528503371_672966536_n

Sister Green and her companion with a few locals from the Australia Adelaide Mission

I’ve had many experiences throughout my life, including whilst on my Mission, where I cannot deny the happiness and joy that comes as we lives true to the gospel of Jesus Christ. The Gospel of Jesus Christ is a gospel of change, it is a gospel of Miracles and it is a gospel of Joy. I’ve seen it, I’ve felt it, I’ve shared it, and I know this to be true.

I saw on the news the other day, where a massive study was conducted interviewing 17,000 to gage their perception of happiness. Their conclusion was that the best way to achieve happiness is to WORK. Being a workaholic gives people a sense of achievement and a sense of having a purpose in life. The survey also found that exercise and relationships helped others feel important and ultimately happy. As I sat on the lounge watching this survey I felt sad and thought to myself, Wow if only these people could experience the happiness and joy that comes through Christ. This is why every day of my life, I choose to serve to help others come to know, or remember the happiness Christ has to offer.

Everyone has a part to play in helping all to Come Unto Christ. 5 words I try to live my life by each day is “Don’t tell me, Show me”. Too many people talk the talk, we need more who can walk the walk… If you know what I’m saying? If you love the Lord…”Don’t just tell him, Show him”. It is in the ACTION of our words where the blessings lye, and where miracles are achieved.

I testify that God lives, Jesus Christ is our Savior and Redeemer, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints is the True and living Church upon the earth, living the gospel of Jesus Christ bring happiness and joy like no other, I know this because the Spirit has born witness to my heart that these things are true.

11759036_10153172528508371_89288630_n

Thee beautiful Jimicina

Featured Image Above: Newdly married Hopoate’s outside Brisbane, Australia Temple

Leave a Reply

